The University of Kashmir founded in 1948 as the “University of Jammu & Kashmir” and later bifurcated into University of Kashmir and University of Jammu on 5th of September, 1969, has mesmerizing natural surroundings with the Himalayan mountain range in the background and flanked by the world famous Dal and Nageen lakes. The placid environs and state-of-the art facilities provide its students and scholars an ideal ambience to pursue their studies and research in a wide array of academic programmes.  The Main Campus of the University is located at Hazratbal, Srinagar, in addition to Main Campus at Hazratbal, Srinagar, University has five (05) satellite campuses and a Sub-Office–cum- Directorate of Distance Education, Jammu Chapter located at Bathandi, Jammu.


The University has following Guest Houses located in the Main Campus and at Bhatnadi, Jammu.


(i)                 Sheikh Hamzah Guest House, NaseemBagh, Hazratbal, Srinagar, J&K

(ii)              Zabarwan Guest House, NaseemBagh, Hazratbal, Srinagar, J&K

(iii)            Guest House at Bhataindi, Jammu, J&K